Big Beverage's Commitment to Responsibility
Big Beverage Centers strictly adhere to all age laws for purchasing and consuming alcoholic beverages.
We're proud to be part of your community and we hold ourselves to the highest standards of responsibility when it comes to eliminating illegal underage alcohol purchasing.
All Big Beverage Centers employ a stringent practice of carding our alcohol-buying patrons for proof of age. It's a commitment we take very seriously.
According to a recent study, New York State beer distributors, as a whole, accounted for a remarkably small percentage of illegal underage sales. Big Beverage is proud to do its part in promoting responsible beer sales and consumption.
For those individuals who are entertaining guests or hosting parties, Big Beverage offers these suggestions to help promote safe and responsible drinking:
- Be sure that only those who are above the legal drinking age of 21 years are consuming alcoholic beverages.
- Offer alternatives to alcoholic beverages. Big Beverage stocks a large selection of sodas, waters, iced teas, and non-alcoholic malt beverages for your guests who wish to limit their alcohol consumption or abstain completely.
- Encourage moderate consumption among your guests and be sure to have plenty of food on hand to help moderate the effects of alcohol consumption.
- Encourage your drinking guests to make post-party driving arrangements in advance, or to utilize taxi services.
- Do whatever it takes to keep a driver who has consumed too much alcohol from getting into his or her car. Offer to call a cab or to have a sober individual drive your guest home.
Alcohol Legal Numbers & Information
United States Legal Age for Alcohol Consumption and Purchasing: 21
What is DWI?
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a crime. In NYS, the penalties include the loss of driving privileges, fines, and a possible jail term.
Your judgment, coordination and ability to drive a vehicle change when you consume any amount of alcohol. The level of impairment depends on five conditions:
- the amount of alcohol you drink
- the amount of food you eat before or while you drink alcohol
- the length of time you drink alcohol
- your body weight
- your gender
There is no quick method to become sober. The best method is to wait until your body absorbs the alcohol. The average rate that your body processes alcohol is approximately one drink per hour.
What are the alcohol and drug-related violations in New York State?
BAC = blood alcohol concentration
DWI: Driving While Intoxicated; .08 BAC or higher or other evidence of intoxication.
Aggravated DWI: Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated: .18 BAC or higher.
DWAI/Alcohol: Driving While Ability Impaired (by alcohol); .05 BAC to .07 BAC, or other evidence of impairment.
DWAI/Drug: Driving While Ability Impaired by a single Drug other than alcohol.
DWAI/Combination: Driving While Ability Impaired by a the Combined Influence or Drugs or Alcohol.
Chemical Test Refusal: A driver who refuses to take a chemical test (normally a test of breath, blood or urine) can receive a driver license revocation of at least one yare and must pay a $500 civil penalty ($550 for a driver of commercial vehicles) to apply for a new driver license. A driver who refuses a chemical test during the five years after a DWI-related charge will have their driver license revoked for at least 18 months and must pay a $750 civil penalty to apply for a new driver license.
Zero Tolerance Law: A driver who is less than 21 years of age and who drives with a .02 BAC to .07 BAC violates the Zero Tolerance Law.
This information courtesy of the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.